skip navigation

Peewee AA Tigers Win CCYHL Championship!

By Staff, 03/02/17, 10:15AM MST


The Peewee AA Tigers squad went 3-0 in the CCYHL championship tournament, holding their opponents scoreless en route to winning the championship game Wednesday night.

In their first game, the Tigers defeated Hyland Hills by a score of 4-0.  Four different Tigers netted goals in the contest with Denton Damgaard scoring the eventual game winner 12 minutes into the first period.  Garrett Lindsey, Philip Bramble and Reese Thornton also scored in the contest, and Bennett Johnson stopped all eight shots faced for the shutout win.

In game two, the Tigers blanked an impressive Arvada squad, with the sole goal and game winner coming from Chase Chapman, assisted by Connor Frickey two minutes into the third period.  Another shutout performance was given to the Tigers by Colton Engelke stopping all nine shots faced.

The championship game matched the Tigers against Foothills, who had defeated the CCYHL regular season champion Littleton Hawks 2-1 in the semi final round.  Reese Thornton opened the scoring for the Tigers 10 minutes into the second period off a nice assist from Tristan Chavez.  Chase Chapman added the insurance goal mid way through the third period as Bennett Johnson made numerous crucial saves to keep the Flyers off the scoreboard.

Chase Chapman led all tournament skaters with two goals and an assist, and both goalies posted perfect stats with a 0.00 GAA and 100% save percentage.  Next up for the Tigers are the State Championships.  Congrats to the Peewee AA Tigers and good luck at states!